Lethal Waves, Inspector Andy Horton is embroiled in a complex murder case

Published in hardcover by Severn House in the UK on 28 February 2017 and in the USA on 1 June 2017.

Read more about the Inspector Andy Horton Crime Novels

Where to buy Pauline Rowson's books USAPauline Rowson's books UK From your local bookshop Also available as an ebook and on Amazon Kindle, Kobo and for loan from UK, USA, Irish and Commonwealth libraries

The inspiration behind the crime novel featuring fire fighters, In Cold Daylight, by Pauline Rowson

Ideas for crime novels can come from many different sources, often a location inspires me particularly with regard to the Andy Horton detective mysteries which are set around the sea in the Portsmouth, Isle of Wight area of the Solent. Other times a news item might create that spark or an overheard conversation and such was the case with one of my standalone crime novels, In Cold Daylight.

In Cold Daylight was inspired by a conversation I overheard on my husband’s watch one day in the Southsea Fire Station. My husband and his fire fighter colleagues were discussing the unusually high number of fire fighters from their watch who had contracted cancer. Most of the cancers had been centered around the neck, ears and throat, the area where fire fighters were not protected.  They believed it was from exposure in a fire to hazardous chemicals.  This was never investigated. Indeed it wasn't known which incident could have caused the cancer.  I decided to take this idea and …

Crime novels crowd my bookmark

With a new Andy Horton mystery published on 28 February 2017, Lethal Waves, I needed a new bookmark. The latest bookmark showcases all my seventeen crime novels published, with one final space left (where the writing is) as you can see for my eighteenth crime novel to be published later in 2017, which will be the third in the series featuring undercover marine investigator Art Marvik.

After this  I will either have to stop writing! Impossible. Or have a brand new design for my bookmarks.

I use my bookmarks to pop into the copies of my crime novels I sign at the talks I give throughout the year.  A very useful marketing tool and handy to have too to mark your space in an Andy Horton Mystery or an Art Marvik Marine Mystery, that is unless you read them from beginning to end in one session and can't put them down!

The bookmark also includes my two standalone crime novels, In Cold Daylight, and In For the Kill.  Maybe one day I will write a sequel to either or both.

For now I am working …

Join Pauline Rowson at Bishops Waltham Library and Fordingbridge Library

I'm delighted to announce two more library talks lined up for 2017.  Hope some of you can join me.

On 6 April 2017 I will be at Bishops Waltham Library  at 2.30pm talking about my crime busting heroes, detective Andy Horton and undercover marine investigator, Art Marvik and how I write my crime novels set on the South Coast of England.

Tickets cost £4 and available from the library or the booking line on 01489 896173.
 Bishops Waltham Library, Free Street, Bishops Waltham, SO32 1EE

Then on 19 October 2017 I will be at Fordingbridge Library at 2pm. Tickets from Fordingbridge Library, Round Hill, Fordingbridge SP6 1AQ Tel: 0300 555 1387

Looking forward to both events and meeting lots of lovely readers.

See all my events and talks for 2017.


If you've enjoyed reading my crime novels please do tell others, we'd also love for you to leave a short review or rating on Amazon as it all helps to introduce the novels to new readers.

Where to buy Pauline Rowso…

A killing spree breaks out in Lyndhurst in the New Forest

Members of Lyndhurst U3A (University of the Third Age) went on a killing spree with me on Wednesday 8 March but I'm glad to say no one was murdered, or even wounded, as Inspector Andy Horton and Art Marvik were on hand to see that any villains got put away before any real damage could be inflicted.

I was at Lyndhurst in the New Forest in England to talk about my crime novels set against the backdrop of the sea on the south coast of England and of my crime busting heroes, the rugged and flawed detective, DI Andy Horton, and my new hero, troubled former Royal Marine Commando Art Marvik now working as an undercover investigator for the UK's National Intelligence Marine Squad,(NIMS).

I was also delighted to launch the latest in the Inspector Andy Horton crime series, Lethal Waves,  number thirteen in the series, published by Severn House in the UK on 28 February 2017 and in the USA on the 1 June 2017

I talked about how I created my characters and how I plot and research my crim…

Inspector Andy Horton crime novel, Lethal Waves, takes to the air waves on BBC

It was a pleasure talking to Julian Clegg on the BBC Radio Solent Breakfast Show on Tuesday 7 March about the latest Andy Horton detective novel, Lethal Waves, published in hardcover in the UK on the 28 February 2017.

Lethal Waves is number thirteen in the Horton police procedural series. The Andy Horton crime novels are set in the Solent area with Horton's patch being Portsmouth CID and his investigations often taking him across the Solent to the Isle of Wight.

You can listen to my short interview on BBC iplayer (about 01:24 into the progamme).

Lethal Waves, an Inspector Andy Horton Mystery
DI Andy Horton’s meal with his old friend, Inspector John Guilbert of the States of Guernsey Police, is cut short when a woman is found dead in her cabin on the ferry from Portsmouth to Guernsey. There doesn’t appear to be any suspicious circumstances. It's not Horton's case. But as  soon as Horton returns to Portsmouth he's called in to investigate the death of a vagrant found lying…

What have crime authors Pauline Rowson and Graham Hurley got in common?

This was a theme that was explored inPortsmouth Coppers an event held a Portsmouth Central Library on Saturday 4 March where ninety people came to hear about the crime novels of Pauline Rowson and Graham Hurley who were quizzed by fellow crime author and former criminal barrister Diana Bretherwick about why they set their detective novels in the waterfront city of Portsmouth.  And yes that's the first thing they have in common, or I should say we have in common.

 I was raised in Portsmouth, a city which I share with my flawed and rugged sailing detective, Andy Horton, who appears in thirteen crime novels with the latest Lethal Waves, published in February 2017.  It is my love of the sea and in particular the Solent, that has led me to use it almost as a character in my novels. As well as the Inspector Andy Horton series I am author of two standalone crime novels and two in the series featuring Art Marvik, a former Royal Marine Commando, turned undercover investigator for the UK’s …